Anticipation is the Best Part

We all form ideals about things – the ideal college, the ideal boyfriend, the ideal career. Of course, we never reach most of these ideals, but a lot of the time it was the pursuit of this perfection that motivated us to get as far as we did. I am blogging this from Café Rouge in London, a few yards away from the British Museum. I have half a croissant smothered in strawberry jam in my mouth and listening intently to the two girls next to me gossiping over Sunday brunch a la Sex and the City. One girl is appalled by the lack of fashion sense and texting etiquette of the 35-year-old guy with whom she went on a date. The other is nodding sympathetically and asking an endless string of and-then-what-happened’s like the perfect gal-pal she is. Oh, I’m also sipping on a chocolate cappuccino. I think this is one of those rare instances in which the concept of an ideal manifests itself into reality.

IMG_2719

Today is the first day of my dream European sojourn – launch off in London, parading to Paris, boogying down in Berlin, prancing through Prague, dropping off in Dresden, and venturing to Vienna. I have the perfect mix of alone days and meet-up-with-friends days. I have days scheduled for field research and drafting my B.A. thesis. I have days with nothing planned at all. I just purchased a disposable camera with a 30-photo capacity roll of film to satisfy my hipster quota (I have a reputation to uphold). And most importantly, right now the exchange rate is 1.00USD to 0.92EUR. Thanks Obama.

I think people who love ideals also are pretty into making lists. I’ve almost never checked off an entire list on schedule, but here’s to trying!

  • Buy a durable tote bag from an independent bookshop
  • Find a vintage sweater and dress
  • Go on a run through every city’s most beautiful park
  • Complete 30 pages of my B.A. thesis
  • Stay within my 300EUR spending budget
  • Finish Super Sad True Love Story

I’m going to keep this list short. God knows what happens when Wendy gets overambitious and lets her ideals grow wild.

One thought on “Anticipation is the Best Part

Leave a Reply

