The Quintessential French Song

Is it “Aux Champs Elysees?” “Non, Je ne regrette de rien?” Or the more contemporary, “Formidable?” For my French class, the little tune playing in all our heads as we stroll down the cobblestones of Aix will forever be Gerard Lenorman’s “Michele.”

My stab at an English translation:

You were just fifteen years old
Your hair wore ribbons
You lived very close to
the Grand Palais
In the morning I would call on you
and together we would take the train.
To go to the high school.
Michele, sitting next to you
I would wait for the lunch break
to go to a cafe
to drink chocolate and to kiss you.

And then one day you were seventeen.
Your hair was flying in the wind.
And often you sang: Oh! Yesterday!
Thursday afternoons, we went to the black and white cinema
To watch the movies, of Marilyn
Michele, one night in december
the snow was falling on the roofs
We were, you and me,
asleep together
for the first time.

The time passed slowly
And the defeated Prince Charming
who offered you voyages in the clouds,
I was told that you had married
in April of last spring,
that you live now, in Paris.

Michele, it’s all a long way away from
The streets, the joyful cafes
The same commuter trains
that mock you, they mock me
Michele, it’s all a long way away from
The streets, the joyful cafes
The same commuter trains
that mock you, they mock me…
they mock me!

 

That’s all I got, sorry.

Leave a Reply

